The Gryffindor Sock’s Cultural Tour of Cuba

Holy crap, Cuba was awesome.  So, so awesome.  Everyone has been totally depressed since we got back on Saturday and we’ve all been swanning around complaining about the lack of pre-lunch rum and the severe shortage of cabana boys.  (There were some days when I had three drinks before lunch.  They had bananas in them!  That’s breakfast!)  It really was ridiculously fun and unbeliveably relaxing. I read three and a half books and a magazine. I actually didn’t knit as much as I was expecting to, but I did get a large chunk of one of the fronts of the Central Park Hoodie done as well as several rows on Mountain Peaks.

And, of course, there was the Gryffindor sock.

Now, if you want to be strictly accurate, the sock isn’t quite as well travelled as it appears. On the Cultural Tour of Britain , I was knitting Gryffindor socks for Beth. The Cultural Tour of Disneyland featured the Gryffindor socks that I’m knitting for myself, which was the pair that came along on this trip. Still, both pairs are doing much better than most of my knitting! Very well travelled for a sock, wouldn’t you say?

(If you want to see some of the photos that feature things other than the sock, go on through to my flickr account. And if you think my photos are kind of lame, you’re not wrong. Fortunately, I was with 20 other people and they all have tons of photos. Leave me a comment if you want to see some of those and I’ll send you some links.)

After a couple of days at the resort, we took a catamaran trip that featured the following incredibly awesome event (no sock, I know, sorry, but this is too good not to post.):

Sarah with dolphins

Why yes, I am squealing like a complete dork in this photo! Thank you for noticing. That was so freaking cool I still can’t really believe it.

Right, on to the sock.

On Wednesday, we all headed to Havana for a tour. It was a two hour bus ride from the resort to the city, so I was very glad to have my sock with me. I actually hadn’t planned to bring it at all, but then as I was literally going out the door (Jamie was putting my other bag in the car), I grabbed it in a panic, not wanting to be small project-less in case of long drives. This proved to be a good decision.

One of the coolest stops on our tour was the old Capitol building. It was designed in the style of the U.S. Capitol, and inside is the world’s third largest indoor statue. It’s of Athena. (I think.) Here’s me and the sock checking it out.

IMG_7803

I really am holding the sock. See?

IMG_7804

On the floor in the exact centre of the room was a replica diamond of some diamond that was very important to Cuba. (It should not be news to any regular readers that I’m really bad to actually paying attention to detail on this sort of thing. It was weird to travel without Jamie, because he always knows this shit and tells me later. I’m feeling weirdly uninformed about some of this stuff.) Anyway, the sock decided to check out the diamond.

IMG_7805

While it was down there, it noticed the very impressive ceiling and decided it wanted a photo with that. I happily obliged, as the ceiling was really cool. I’m a bit concerned that all these extravagant holidays are turning the sock into a bit of a prima donna, though. Most of my knitting is happy if it gets to come to work with me.

IMG_7806

The ceilings in the two hallways that flanked the dome weren’t too shabby either.

IMG_7807

The sock and I both agreed that what my house is really missing is one of these on the front door.

IMG_7811

Don’t you think? It would add that certain something, don’t you think? Or maybe we need one of these just outside the door.

IMG_7813

Right after Kristy took that, someone came and yelled at me for sitting on the step. Apparently their statues have personal space issues. So we moved down the steps for some more photos. We took a shot with the three roomies:

IMG_7814

Me, Chantal, and the sock. We got along very well. Chantal is also a knitter so she was quite good at telling the sock how marvellous it was and other such things. She also lent it a bikini, but I’m getting ahead of myself.

Here you see the sock admiring the sights from the steps of the Capitol. Those little yellow blobby things are the really neat little cabs that they have.

IMG_7815

The sock also insisted on being included in some group photos. Aren’t my friends obliging?

IMG_7819

After a stop at a cigar shop, where the sock stayed in my bag since it was MAYHEM, and I bought two cigars and some rum (so cheap!) and some coffee, we headed to Revolution Square. Here I am with the sock checking out the José Martí Monument designed by Enrique Luis Varela, and the sculpture by Juan José Sicre. (Yes, I had to look that up.)

IMG_7821

Here we are with Kristy in front of the really cool monument to Che Guevara. Kristy has a bit of a crush on him (he is pretty hot, as revolutionaries go), but I mostly just like his hat.

IMG_7824

So the sock did pretty well taking in the sights and culture of Havana. Unfortunately, the sock then went on a bit of a bender at the resort. But that is a post for another time. Stay tuned for further exploits of the Gryffindor sock in Cuba!

6 Responses to “The Gryffindor Sock’s Cultural Tour of Cuba”

  1. knitty-kat Says:

    ha ha ha! Did you make friends with the nice dolphins?! LOL, traveling sock, very nice indeed. Looks like you all had a great time!

  2. Batty Says:

    Awesome!

    Now that’s a well-traveled sock!

  3. Jayson Merryfield Says:

    Hola, Grand Poobah! I just found your blog. Seems like you’ve been quite the world traveller. I’ve never knit before in my life (though I have crocheted once or twice) I’ll tack you on to my RSS list.

    Jayson

  4. Amanda Morris Says:

    Where is the part of the tour where the sock co-stars with my boob? That shot was quintessential CUBA (not my breast – the cigar!) I think it is sorely missing.

  5. chicagowench Says:

    Oh my god, I MUST make Ravenclaw socks.

    When I’m not doing the mystery stole along. Yes yes, I’d signed up even before you commented. Go see Knit-n-gib”. Anastasia and I are doing it together, like the crazies we are.

  6. sandy Says:

    i am so jealous…i want to swim with dolphins!

Leave a Reply

